The college corporation is responsible for the overall functioning of Kirklees College.

The Corporation oversees the college’s strategic direction, financial performance and quality of service provided to learners and the community.

Clause 4(1) of Schedule 4 to the Further & Higher Education Act 1992 provides that all Further Education Corporations must provide for the appointment of a Clerk within their governing documents.

The Clerk is independent from management, in order to be able to offer impartial advice to the Corporation.

The main responsibilities of the Clerk are:

  1. To support the Corporation in meeting high standards of governance and fulfilling legal or regulatory requirements
  2. To provide guidance on legal issues relating to governance, as well as the implications of policy or regulatory developments
  3. To advise the Corporation with regard to the operation of its powers
  4. To advise the Corporation with regard to procedural matters
  5. To advise the Corporation with regard to the conduct of its business.

As an independent officer of the Corporation, the Clerk plays a key role in ensuring that the College’s system of checks and balances operates effectively.

The Clerk is appointed by and accountable to the Corporation only. There is a clear separation of functions and lines of reporting and the main responsibility for managing the Clerk rests with the Chair of the Corporation.

The current Clerk Joanna Green may be contacted at

The Corporation Board is made up of highly experienced individuals, who have extensive experience across industry, business, law, finance and the community, as well as students and staff.

The Corporation meets at least twice each term to discuss the college’s strategy and its progress on key performance matters.

The Corporation also has several governor committees which look at the college’s performance on finance and quality matters and in more detail at all key areas of the business.

Governors also play an active role in college life through support and advice, as well as attending events and promoting the good work the college does in the community.


The Corporation


Palvinder Singh


Gerard Hetherington

Chair of Corporation

Stephen Donnelly

Independent Member

Christina George

Independent Member

Alistair Conn

Independent Member

Howard Linn

Independent Member

Mukesh Varyani

Independent Member

Andy Williams

Independent Member

Marie Carabine

Independent Member

Fara Butt

Independent Member

Ian Wainwright

Independent Member

Grace Woodyet

Student Member

Janie Walters

Independent Member

Chris Robinson

Independent Member

Vacancy x2

Staff Member


Student Member

Governance Documents

Academic Year 2020 – 2021
12 March 2021 20 November 2020
Academic Year 2019 – 2020
19 June 2020 21 November 2019
Academic Year 2018 – 2019
3 May 2019 15 March 2019 18 January 2019
Academic Years 2017 & Earlier
24 March 2017