The Corporation

The college corporation is responsible for the overall functioning of Kirklees College.

The Corporation oversees the college’s strategic direction, financial performance and quality of service provided to learners and the community.

The Corporation Board is made up of highly experienced individuals, who have extensive experience in management across industry, business, law, finance and the community, as well as students and staff.

The corporation meets at least twice each term to discuss to the college’s strategy and its progress on key performance matters.

The corporation also has several governor committees which look at the college’s performance on finance and quality matters in more detail.

Governors also play an active role in college life through support and advice, as well as attending events and promoting the good work the college does in the community.


Vacancies on the Corporation Board arise from time to time. If you would like further information about the work of the board or if you are interested in becoming a governor please contact Clerk to College Corporation Derek Winward 01484 437002.

Corporation Members

Raheela Afzaal-Khan

Independent Member

Geoff Alvy

Independent Member

Jane Bracewell

Independent Member

Linda Carruthers

Independent Member

Ray Dawson

Independent Member

Jacqui Gedman

Independent Member

Cristina George

Independent Member

Andrew Hawley

Independent Member

Gerard Hetherington

Independent Member

Lesley Holdsworth

Staff Member (Business Support)

Christine Jarvis

Independent Member

Peter McCann


John Thompson

Independent Member

John Williams

Independent Member

Derek Winward

Clerk to Corporation

Karen Mullarkey

Staff Member (Curriculum)

Zeb Pervaiz

Independent Member

John Royle

Independent Member

Audit Committee minutes

Corporation Board minutes

Finance Committee minutes

QPS Committee minutes

Search Committee minutes

Kirklees College